Polaris

06/20/2010

How would a sailor live without the sea?
He is not a fish out of water
or a kite without wind
He would have a life silently waiting
a lunar pull of coronary waves
heartfelt urges and vacant enterprise
So I would be without you
my great expansive sea
everyday my soul swims in your fertilizing waves
germinating technicolor dreams of hope
hydroponically afloat on the airs of knowing you
Before my sails were truly filled
and a hard tack starboard showed me my North Star
under New York yellow skies, stars were only storybook characters
but you shined through the glare of billboard lights
allowing me to find my way to where I belong
3 Responses to “Polaris”

  1. slpmartin said

    An interesting love poem…I thought you were headed in another direction as I started the poem and was surprised by how you then used you metaphors…well done.

  2. Bryan Borland said

    There’s something about the sea… something that reminds us how small we are, but here you’re speaking of someone who is larger than life and who makes your heart soar. Dig the North Star reference at the end.

    Me Likes It When You’re in Love.

  3. Those “coronary waves” really stood out for some reason… a diamond of a line on top of other jewels. Wonderfully done!

Leave a Reply

