Sometimes I hold my breath

05/28/2010

Sometimes I hold my breath
it bothers you because I am silent
as you voice insecurities in jest
you will never look like a poodle to me
even if you don’t believe that you’re beautiful
I suppose its better that way

Sometimes I hold my breath
because you’re a candle placed in front of me
and I need your light to dance for my future
making even the darkness seem friendly

Sometimes I hold my breath
just to savor the taste of your scent
like the essence of a fine wine
a vintner’s hermitage made specifically for me
and getting better with age

Sometimes I hold my breath
and look around trying to pause the moment
looking at you while I sit lackluster
just a lucky fool who became a sweepstakes winner
accepting every instant’s blessings of your company

Sometimes I hold my breath
only to let it out dramatically
so you can see that I’ve been doing it
baited, you’d ask me why
and happily I tell you that I do
“because I love you”
I don’t expect you to understand

3 Responses to “Sometimes I hold my breath”

  1. slpmartin said

    Oooh…I really love this poem…the repeating of the line about holding your breath was just wonderful…a totally romantic poem to read.

  2. trisha said

    Very beautifully written. Loved the picture of love you painted.

    i am here from jingle’s thursday rally for poets.

    wish you the very best.
    trisha

  3. Bryan Borland said

    Fantastic poem.

    My favorite line (and a killer line, at that) – “you will never look like a poodle to me.”

    I read this a couple of times and realized I’d been holding my breath. If I had passed out, I’d be blaming you, VK.

Leave a Reply

