The Snapper’s Swan

03/04/2010

I want you to know that it is not your fault
that I was born an old snapping turtle
or that I made my home in a decaying nest

It is not your fault that you were born with long lusty legs
your grace and beauty were nature’s gift
but in your radiance, I was drawn to you

It is not your fault that you chose to land in my bog
as it is nicely stocked with fish and has lovely places to hide
Others have come and gone, unscathed to waddle elsewhere

It was my napping bite that severed your webbed foot
now you are the bog’s prized swan stuck with me
the one who crippled you into this mired life

5 Responses to “The Snapper’s Swan”

  1. truspire said

    New blog out. Check it out here
    http://truspire.wordpress.com/
    God bless.

  2. slpmartin said

    All that was needed was a final moral to make it a true fable…very clever bit of writing.

  3. kseverny said

    excellent poem.
    Really thoughtful

  4. Aw… bittersweet love! Reminds me of Hephaestus and Aphrodite, but hopefully with a happier ending…

  5. Bryan Borland said

    Twisted love, baby.

Leave a Reply

