light years

01/29/2010

There was a time delay
between when I lost it and
when I realized it was gone

A star supernova light years away
drifting through time to
form in our consciousness on Earth

So too was it when I found my youth was missing
like a spare cash bill in my back pocket
on a night out with friends mixed in beer
gone and unaccounted for
into the new black hole of numbers

3 Responses to “light years”

  1. slpmartin said

    Youth does seem to move that fast…I still recall the first time someone referred to me as “Sir”..I knew then that Youth was gone.

  2. I love the analogy here. I remember when I went on an astronomy tour and they explained how the stars we were looking at might not even be there anymore because the light takes so long to reach us… That hit my unreality button hard.

Leave a Reply

