New York lives

01/18/2010

The city didn’t seem to mind missing the sun
elongated street lamps replaced the stars
in a never-really-black sky
neon signs and subway orbs
racing traffic and mutating faces
carry the soul of each neighborhood
possessed by the spirit, yet unencumbered
free to let another be the host
but wanting desperately to be chosen
it breathes through us as we live with her
alive in this symbiotic relationship
thriving on the life force into dawns break

6 Responses to “New York lives”

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog. I’m glad I found yours. I’ll blogroll you. Might you do the same for me?

  2. Great imagery and personification in this.

  3. Nice…reminds me of “A Winter’s Tale” a bit.

  4. Tel said

    I really like the essence of “place” and the impact it has on our lives. Symbiotic is a nice way to put it. You capture NYC at night very well: alive, well lit, and always, always full of energy. Living and breathing.

  5. Really beautiful images. But then I love living in the city.

Leave a Reply

