introspection

09/10/2009

standing at the mirror
he looked into his own eyes
windows to a foreign heart
casting questions at the silvered glass
who am I? What am I supposed to do?
the look returned lacked understanding
perhaps it was a foreigner’s soul inside
or maybe the old being was hard of hearing
either way, the queries were left unanswered
an all-black jigsaw puzzle in 1,000 pieces
perhaps it is possible to find the solution
but in the time it takes to finish
time elapses, never to come back
and more unanswered thoughts surface
so he washes his face and continues the search
maybe somewhere out there the answer awaits

9 Responses to “introspection”

  1. Interesting. I can’t help it. This reminds me of me when I have been out a bit too late and wake in the morning going Hmmm… Great work my friend.

    • Vic said

      Kat, Thanks for your point of view on this poem. I’m more in that “what the hell am I going to do now that I’m losing my job” mode with this, but I get where you saw that too. 🙂

      • Oh no my friend, I am so sorry! I went throught this a few months back. I work in engineering in a small town. No construction, means no work.

        Your going to do what I did: Your going to become another American statistic, and your going to file for unemployment, and your going to be okay – somehow.

        It’s not going to be easy. We are almost facing foreclosure because of my loss of income. I don’t know how this is going to turn out for me or you, but you will make it.

        Vic, I’m so sorry to hear this :-(.

      • Vic said

        C’est la vie. If I can’t work for a salary, at least I can garden and hunt. Life will go on.

      • Oops! Sorry Vic, my last reply got mucked up, but it meant for you, not me :-). Lol! Apologies for my pawprints all over your blog today hon!

      • Vic said

        Paw away. If I ever take myself or this stuff too seriously, I’ll need someone with heavier paws to bring me back. You’re being nice. Carry on. 🙂

      • Lol! Well, anyway, you have the right attitude. And don’t lose sleep worrying over this mess. Alot of folks are going through it, so it is no reflection on you hon. Okay, I’m off to “paw” around some more in my email :-). See you soon, and remember: Don’t worry!

  2. Yes, life will go on, and thats the spirit. Think of it this way: You’ll have lots of time to write! I always try to find the positive, but I know this situation is not a good thing. Kudos to you though for your attitude.

Leave a Reply

