Mental current

08/14/2009

like the flow of an estuary
time seems to drag both ways
my head brings me back with the tide
though the clock ticks only one way
I lower the oars creating drag
the fight goes both ways
depending on the moon
sometimes wanting to rush back
recalling memories in safe harbor
then also wondering where the river leads
paddle forward making headway
more or less, sometimes only perception
depending which way the tide decides
to push or pull me to my future or
back to humbler times

One Response to “Mental current”

  1. Wonderful imagery, Vic. Takes me back to years ago on the Brule River in NW WI. I enjoy your style throughout the poems posted here. Keep writing, I’ll keep reading!

Leave a Reply

