mother tolls

07/02/2009

mother calls, like a church bell
every day around noon without exception
chiming in, telling everyone of her love
sometimes too loud for comfort but,
they are constant allowing me to find my way
no matter how far I may wander
steeple’s sounds tole my heart with every toll

every around noon without exception
the chiming begins, sometimes I don’t answer
but the calls still come, as reminders
even before the reverberating begins
anticipation of their call offers the reminder
as it will when the bells fall silent
they will still bring me home from stormy seas
from foreign lands and uncharted places
mother’s call will take me to my home
surrounded by family, unconditionally loved

Leave a Reply

