hope to be a better man

06/11/2009

I was born fast, but with a slight limp
generous hand but ungrateful tongue
a compassionate heart and a condescending lip
judgmental nature, yet my praises are sung

For every Blessing, I’ve an equally weighted imperfection
with a little insight and guided help from my peers
acting on making those wrongs to corrections
perhaps I’ll have more to offer within a few years

I give of my time, but ask this also in kind
sometimes people laugh when I put others down
my thirst is notorious but my tastes are refined
in being outgoing sometimes I act like a clown

For every Blessing, I’ve an equally weighted imperfection
with a little insight and guided help from my peers
acting on making those wrongs into corrections
perhaps I’ll have more to offer within a few years

I try to be modest, but in thinking so, am not
condescend all too often, not helping in understanding
love deeply and loyally, though transgressions are never forgotten
and offer consoling words when cries come from my branding

For every Blessing, I’ve an equally weighted imperfection
with a little insight and guided help from my peers
acting on making those wrongs into corrections
perhaps I’ll have more to offer within a few years

Leave a Reply

