butterflies

05/27/2009

it has been long since our first kiss
days turned into weeks, then suddenly years
your presence makes the world grow
the butterflies still dance from the first
defying lifespan, they flutter around in excitement
morning puffy-eyed yelps, like a kitten’s call
they stir my soul, jump-start my day, my first jolt
superfluous first cup of java, sweet but unconnected
with my nose to the nape of your neck
the last fix before beginning my distanced day
you are my Rome, all roads lead back to you
I do not live for you, but am revived
give me days at your side and I’ll share my happiness
more tomorrows with mornings near you
stretching the lives of winged magic further
from the first stolen kiss to the forever next

Leave a Reply

