Witchcraft

05/12/2009

what a strange elixir has been concocted
there is no eye of newt or scales from a sea serpant
nor are there fresh red rose petals or virgin’s blood
a simple airy potion with invisible ingredients
not a wisp of smoke or bubbling fizz of warning
no wonder it was easily slipped to me

my eyes went wide and palms got wet
a sanguine flush rouged my cheeks
clammy dew moistened my brow
stable knees went week
a poised mind turned to insobriety
the warrior lay humbled and bested

as years pass and the sword grows tarnished
hard belly grows fat and sharp instincts complacent
no regrets to this addiction
only retrospective happiness to wallow in
from your first kiss I was smitten
forever yours my clever witch
kiss me again to keep me drunk

Leave a Reply

